web analytics

What is STLC or Software Testing Life Cycle and also Define Entry & Exit Criteria?

Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) is a grouping of specific activities directed during the testing system to ensure Software quality objectives are met. STLC includes both check and approval activities. In spite of prevalent thinking, Software Testing isn’t simply a single/isolate activity, i.e. testing. It comprises of a series of activities did systemically to assist with ensuring your software product. STLC represents Software Testing Life Cycle.

STLC Phases

There are following six significant stages in each Software Testing Life Cycle Model (STLC Model):

  • Requirement Analysis
  • Test Planning
  • Test case development
  • Test Environment setup
  • Test Execution
  • Test Cycle closure

Every one of these stages has an unequivocal Entry and Exit criteria, Activities and Deliverables related with it.

What is Entry and Exit Criteria in STLC?

  • Entry Criteria: Entry Criteria gives the essential things that should be finished prior to testing can start.
  • Exit Criteria: Exit Criteria characterizes the things that should be finished prior to testing can be closed

You have Entry and Exit Criteria for all levels in the Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC)

In an Ideal world, you won’t enter the next stage until the Exit criteria for the past stage is met. But, for all intents and purposes this is beyond the realm of possibilities all the time. So for this tutorial, we will focus on activities and expectations for the various stages in STLC life cycle.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.